Super Sprouts

Create a masterpiece with your little one!

Super Sprouts is a FREE art program for children 5 and younger offered twice a week in the Duke Energy Children’s Museum's Celebration Room. Drop in between the hours of 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. on Mondays and 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. on Thursdays and stay as long as you like. We’ll have fun learning about different artists, cultures, art movements and artistic styles from around the world!

January 2015

Paint & Doodle!
We turn up the tunes this week and let the music inspired your doodles, like the artist Jennifer Mercede.
Monday, Jan. 19 & Thursday, Jan. 22

Bridge Painting
Learn about the impressionist Claude Monet and his beautiful bridge paintings while you create a masterpiece of your very own!
Monday, Jan. 26 & Thursday, Jan. 29

February 2015

Painting Below Zero
Create a work of art using ice and paint, just like Canadian artist Gordon Halloran!
Monday, Feb. 2 & Thursday, Feb. 5

Sailor’s Valentines
Long ago, sailors gave beautiful valentines to their loved ones before they set sail on the high seas. Join us and create a valentine for someone you love!
Monday, Feb. 9 & Thursday, Feb. 12

Tell Me a Story!
Use art to tell your favorite story by creating a colorful collage.
Monday, Feb. 16 & Thursday, Feb. 19

Sandpaper Painting
Learn about ancient art as we explore painting on an unusual texture!
Monday, Feb. 23 & Thursday, Feb. 26

March 2015

Fizzy Art
Watch things pop and fizz as we turn our art work into a science experiment!
Monday, March 2 & Thursday, March 5

Marvelous Mosaics!
Let the imaginative architecture of Antonio Gaudi inspire a mosaic masterpiece.
Monday, March 9 & Thursday, March 12

Lots O’ Lines
Lines curve, loop, wiggle and wave to create a masterpiece inspired by the artist Joan Miro!
Monday, March 16 & Thursday, March 19

Glow in the Dark Art
There’s no need to be afraid of the dark; light your way with a glowing work of art!
Monday, March 23 & Thursday, March 26

Mondrian Windows
Use straight lines and primary colors to create a stained glass window decoration, inspired by Dutch artist Piet Mondrian!
Monday, March 30 & Thursday, April 2

April 2015

Egg-Celent Art
Learn about the history of eggs at Easter and decorate your own egg-celent work of art!
Monday, April 6 & Thursday, April 9

Abstract Shapes!
Design a modern masterpiece inspired by the bright colors and geometric shapes used by the artist Sonia Delaunay.
Monday, April 13 & Thursday, April 16

Hand-print Painting
Help create a large-scale work of art using a “handy” paintbrush and non-traditional materials!
Monday, April 20 & Thursday, April 23

Fancy Hats!
Learn about the American artist Mary Cassatt, and create a fabulous, fancy hat just in time for the Kentucky Derby!
Monday, April 27 & Thursday, April 30