Super Sprouts

Create a masterpiece with your little one!

Super Sprouts is a FREE art program for children 5 and younger offered twice a week in the Duke Energy Children’s Museum's Celebration Room. Drop in between the hours of 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. on Mondays and 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. on Thursdays and stay as long as you like. We’ll have fun learning about different artists, cultures, art movements and artistic styles from around the world!

April 2014

Sweeping Strokes
Join us as we learn fun new ways to paint, inspired by the artist Gerhard Richter.
Monday, April 21
Thursday, April 24
 
Kelly Creations
Squares are the only shape you will need to create a masterpiece inspired by Ellsworth Kelly.
Monday, April 28
Thursday, May 1

May 2014

Under the Sea! 
Create underwater masterpieces inspired by our newest Omnimax® film, Journey to the South Pacific.
Monday, May 5
Thursday, May 8 

Rose Windows 
Discover the beautiful craft of stained glass and create your own treasure.
Monday, May 12
Thursday, May 15 

One Kid’s Junk… 
Craft a colorful sculpture out of scraps like artist John Chamberlain.
Monday, May 19
Thursday, May 22 

Lobster Phone 
Use your imagination and create art inspired by surrealist Salvador Dali.
Monday, May 26
Thursday, May 29 

June 2014

Don’t Eat Your Veggies
Everyone knows that vegetables keep our bodies healthy, but did you know they can also be used as art supplies?
Monday, June 2
Thursday, June 5 

Totem Poles 
Work together and design art inspired by Totem Poles carved by the Native American peoples in the Pacific Northwest.
Monday, June 9
Thursday, June 12
 

Hearts on Art
Celebrate local artist Jim Dine’s birthday by making art featuring his favorite shapes.
Monday, June 16
Thursday, June 19 

Piece by Piece
Learn about the mosaics that decorate Union Terminal and create a tiled treasure of your own!
Monday, June 23
Thursday, June 26

Red, Blue & Yellow! 
Make art and master the science behind primary colors.
Monday, June 30
Thursday, July 3 

July 2014

Contemporary Art Quilts
 
Create a masterpiece inspired by a modern take on quilt-making.
Monday, July 7
Thursday, July 10 

Balloon Painting
Stomp, squish and splash your way to a colorful creation – no paint brushes allowed!
Monday, July 14
Thursday, July 17 

Summer Sandcastles 
Beat the heat! Bring the beach inside to form a summer-y creation.
Monday, July 21
Thursday, July 29 

Symmetry Squish 
Play with paint and see what happens when colors mix with each other.
Monday, July 28
Thursday, July 31